Privacy policy

The following is the privacy policy for the checkvist.com website. In this policy, we describe what personal information we collect on our site, how we use it, and your options regarding information we may collect about you. If you have questions, please feel free to contact us at kirsa@checkvist.com

General

We value your privacy, and strive to make our services safe and enjoyable to everyone. Checkvist stores only the essential personal information, required for the tool functioning. We will never, under no circumstances, sell this data to anyone.

Information gathering (website visitors)

We aggregate information about people navigating through the website pages: landing pages, time spent, page scrolling, etc. This information is anonymous, besides the country and IP address. More in the Google Analytics and HotJar sections below.

Google Analytics

We use Google Analytics as the main tool to understand our service visitors' demographics and the conversion process. For more detailed information on the Google Analytics privacy policy, please read Google's Terms and Privacy policy.

Google Analytics is not used on your account data. We track only the fact of a successful login, all other tracking is completely disabled.

HotJar

We use HotJar to better understand how people interact with our services, in particular, we follow the initial experience and the onboarding process (web site pages visited or scrolled, screen resolutions and device used, user interface controls clicked, etc). For more detailed information on HotJar's privacy and security policies, please visit https://www.hotjar.com/privacy.

HotJar is not used on your account data. Once you've logged in or created a Checkvist account, HotJar tracking is disabled completely.

Information gathering and communication (registered users)

We do not use any tracking or monitoring tools in your account.

When you create a Checkvist account, we ask for your email address, username, and password. This data is used solely for the authentication and necessary automatic email communication.

Emails

  • Email verification After the registration you'll receive an email from us, asking to verify the email address you used for Checkvist registration. Unless you do it, Checkvist collaboration features will be disabled. This helps us stop spammers.
  • No activity for 30 days after the registration If you didn't use Checkvist for 30 days after the registration, we send you an email asking to log into your account. Unless you do it, we retain the right to delete your account. Thus we can clean up accounts created by bots or with wrong email addresses.
  • PRO account trial started If you start a PRO account trial, we'll send you a confirmation email with the list of all the new features you can use as a PRO client.
  • PRO trial is about to end Before your PRO account trial has ended, we send you an email offering to prolong the trial.
  • Account upgrade to PRO If you decide to buy a PRO account, we'll send you a confirmation email with the payment terms and available feature list.
  • Next payment notification If you are a paying (PRO) customer, we'll inform you about 3-5 days before your next payment. Thus you can decide to cancel the next payment, and downgrade to a free plan.
  • Collaboration emails Checkvist sends emails,
    a) When you share a list via email (to that email address),
    b) When you are an assignee for a task,
    c) When you set email notifications for due tasks or list edits.
    You can share via hyperlinks to avoid the first, and configure or disable all due and change notifications for your account, at any time.
  • Security issues and service availability emails We are obliged by law to inform afftected customers about the security issues and steps taken to fix them. Besides, we retain the right to inform customers about service availability issues.

We do not send any marketing, customer research or advertising emails. All news and updates are distributed via in-app notifications, Checkvist blog, and social media accounts: Twitter, Google+, Facebook.

Information sharing

Dropbox via Checkvist—Dropbox integration

One of the PRO plan features is keeping backup files in your Dropbox account. If you set up this integration, your files will be stored in your Dropbox, under Dropbox own Privacy policy and Terms.

Applications using Checkvist Open API

Checkvist API allows to create a custom integration with other applications and share you data with them. In this case all shared data will be governed by privacy policy and terms of those applications.

Cookies

For non-authenticated user Checkvist does not use cookies directly, but only for third-party services:

For authenticated user, Checkvist uses cookies to store some visitors preferences and session information, related to service functioning. Cookies are required to use Checkvist.

If you have checked the "Remember me" option upon log in, the cookie will be stored during a 30 day period. After that it will expire to protect you against others accidentally accessing your account contents, and you will have to log in again.

If you haven't checked the "Remember me" option, cookies will be cleared when you close your browser and next time you will have to log in again.

Spam preventing

To stop automatic bot sign ups and unsolicited email distribution, we employ Google Invisible reCAPTCHA. By creating a Checkvist account you agree to Google reCAPTCHA Terms and Privacy policy.

We also require an explicit email verification for features that employ email distribution from the system (list sharing and notifications).

Data storage

We use third party vendors and hosting partners to provide the necessary hardware, software, networking, storage, and related technology required to run Checkvist. Although we own the code, databases, and all rights to the Checkvist application, you retain all rights to your data.

Advertising

We do not partner or have any relationship with any online advertising companies.

Disclosure

We reserve the right to disclose personally identifiable information under special circumstances, such as to comply with subpoenas or when your actions violate the Terms of Service.

The right to be forgotten

If you want to erase all data, associated with your Checkvist account (including payment history, email address, all list data, attachments, etc.), just log in and delete your account on the profile page. That operation can not be undone, and will permanently delete all data, including those shared with other people.

You can also request a copy of all personal data, associated with your account. Please, contact privacy@checkvist.com for that.

Changes

We may periodically update this policy. In this case we will notify you about significant changes in the way we treat personal information by sending a notice to the email address specified in your Checkvist account or by placing a prominent notice on our site.


Last updated: April, 07 2018